New Band Council elected for Benoit 1st nation


Benoit 1st Nation would like to announce that the following people have been nominated for the Band Council:

Jasen Benwah aka Penwa Jes’n – Chief
Barbra Benoit McAlinden – Vice Chief
Conrad Benoit – Treasurer
Secretary – Myra Benoit
Womens Director – Lee Kerfont
Elders Director – Mary Phyllis Benoit Young
Youth Director – Tracy Jesso

Since only one person was nominated for each position each are Elected by Acclamation for the 3 year term and no election is required. Congratulations everyone.

The following people have been nominated as Band Council Committee Directors:

Public Works Director – Stephen Benoit
Heritage Park Director – George Benoit,
Program Director – Delina Petit Pas
Public Relations Director – Lory Benoit Jesso
Elders Council – Godfrey Benoit,
Elders Council – Jerome Benoit,
Elders Council – Wallace Cornect,
Elders Council – Edna M Benoit..

Congratulations everyone. Thanks to Edna Wheeler for being our Nomination Officer. Thanks to all those who came out to nominate people and for all the support from the membership. Thanks to all those who have volunteered to serve on the Band Council and on our Committees. Together we can do even more great things in the coming years.

Swearing -in will take place at the next Band Council Meeting.

Photo: Band member witnesses on hand for the nomination announcement.