Work at our Provincial Mi’kmaq Museum this Summer!
This summer, be part of the youth team telling the stories of our Mi’kmaq history in Ktaqmkuk, the land across the water. The St. George’s Indian Band is currently seeking applications for three positions. See below for some information on the museum from the band’s website, and a link to the application information.
“Seal Rocks was the largest and principle Mi’kmaq settlement on the West Coast of Newfoundland. It was established in 1804 as permanent settlement for the Mi’kmaq of Newfoundland and for the resettlement of the Mi’kmaq from Nova Scotia. Mi’kmaq oral tradition maintains occupation of the area is ancient.
To celebrate this rich culture a local historic old building has been renovated to house a cultural museum and interpretation center. This museum is the first and only official Mi’kmaw cultural historic museum for the island of Newfoundland. The significance of the tremendous contribution of our Mi’kmaq ancestors to Bay St. George will be recognized, celebrated and given its proper place.
The K’Taqmkuk Mi’kmaw Cultural Historic Museum is now what used to be the courthouse, pictured to the right, the outside of the building has been restored back to its’ former grandeur and the inside houses the K’taqmkuk Mi’kmaq Museum. It is located at Main Street, St. George’s, NL. The courthouse was built in 1903 and is one of three of its kind in the province of NL. The building has seen many changes over the years with it being a courthouse, jail, police station, post office, housed a medical clinic, public health and it was then turned over to the St. George’s Indian Band for the sum of one dollar! The St. George’s Indian Band Council has worked to turn this beautiful site into a cultural experience for all to see. The courthouse, which it is still called by the townspeople, is a large part of the rich history for the St. George’s area.”