Self-Identification Reassessment Support Available at Locations across the Province

Enrolment Support Team Photo_edited

Qalipu First Nation is pleased to announce that we now have support in place to assist applicants with understanding, and responding to, the self-identification reassessment letters that were recently sent out to applicants previously denied on the self-identification criterion.

This reassessment is the outcome of a court case, Wells et al. v. Canada, the result of which was a change to the timeframe within which self-identification documents had to be dated, and addition of the right to an appeal for applicants denied on the self-identification criterion.   Recipients of these letters which were mailed on January 31, 2019 now have the opportunity to submit additional self-identification documents or indicate the documents on their file that fit within the new timeframe.

The deadline to respond to the reassessment letters is May 13, 2019.

Did you receive a letter? Are you wondering if you should have? Are you confused about what the letter means and how to respond?

Our support team is now in place to help.  Please reach a member of the team to set an appointment in an office near you, or to talk through your questions over the phone.  Please see below for team contact information:

Office Location Support Team Member Telephone Number Email Address
Corner Brook (Band office, 3 Church Street) Nancy O’Connell 709-634-4010 noconnell@qalipu.ca
Flat Bay (Band office, 10 Band Rd.) Kim Long 709-647-1370 klong@qalipu.ca
Grand Falls-Windsor (Band office, 29 Hardy Avenue) Nellie Power 709-489-2898 npower@qalipu.ca
Port au Port (Mi’kmaq Centre, 811 Oceanview Drive, Cape St. George) Myra Benoit

Barbra Benoit McAlinden

709-757-9444 mbenoit@qalipu.ca

bbmcalinden@qalipu.ca

Stephenville (90 Main Street) Helena Reardon 709-643-4593 hreardon@qalipu.ca
St. George’s (Ktaqmkuk Mi’kmaq Museum, Main St.) Melissa White 709-214-0115 mwhite@qalipu.ca